News > NSW U19's crowned National Champions
NSW U19's crowned National Champions
Apr 21, 2011 --

The NSW 19/U Team has been crowned National Champions for the ninth time, defeating arch-rivals Victoria 36-21 at the Logan Metro Indoor Sports Centre in the Grand Final of the National Netball Championship.

Adding to the victory, NSW defender Gabi Simpson was named the Tournament MVP after standout performances across the entire week.

Tenacious in defence and patient in attack, the NSW team took control of the match early and set-up the 15-goal victory.

NSW Coach Lenore Blades was consistent in her message all week to the team about the need to build across the game, and today they did just that, breaking through the Victorian defensive wall to lead the match 7-5 at quarter-time.

The second quarter was where the match was won, with Amy Sommerville and Alix McDermott combining beautifully in the shooting circle to net 12 goals for the quarter, whilst at the other end of the court Hannah Lee and Gabi Simpson were suffocating in defence, starving Victoria of opportunities.

Renowned for their determination, the Victorians attempted to mount a comeback in the third quarter, trying desperately to eat into the NSW lead, but going goal-for-goal wasn’t enough for the Victorians as NSW went into the final quarter with a 12-goal lead, 28-16.

With a wave of excitement filling the venue, the NSW supporters who had been in full voice all day, found that little bit extra to cheer the girls home as they dominated the last quarter to finish the championship undefeated with a 36-21 victory.

The entire starting seven of Brooke Miller, Paige Hadley, Amy Sommerville, Alix McDermott, Kimberley Ravallion, Gabi Simpson and Hannah Lee were recognised by being named in the Australian U19 squad.

NSW Under 19's Results
Round 1: NSW 40 def TAS 18
Round 2: NSW 32 def VIC 25
Round 3: NSW 32 def WA 23
Round 4: NSW 28 def QLD 27
Round 5: NSW 42 def ACT 25
Round 6: NSW 31 def SA 29
Round 7: NSW 38 def NT 23
Semi-final: NSW 35 def WA 17
Grand Final: NSW 36 def VIC 21